top of page
haddon-2.jpg

About Us:

​​​

​

 

The Haddon Fortnightly is a vibrant civic and social club dedicated to empowering women since 1894. Located in the heart of historic Haddonfield, we are proud members of the New Jersey State Federation of Women’s Clubs and the General Federation of Women’s Clubs.

Our organization is deeply committed to giving back to the community. Each year we host the Snowflake Run and donate thousands of dollars to support teenage suicide prevention. We award college scholarships to women, raise funds, and donate essential items to women who are victims of domestic abuse, among many other charitable efforts.

With a rich history and a strong commitment to social, cultural, and educational enrichment, The Haddon Fortnightly hosts hundreds of private and public events annually. For more information about rentals, tours, and membership opportunities, please visit our contact page.

Please click on the box below to read an Introduction letter from our Club President 

shirley president.jpg
The History of
The Haddon Fortnightly:
Margaret-Bancroft.jpg
Margaret Bancroft
Members of The Haddon Fortnightly
The Indian King Tavern - Haddonfield New Jersey
The Douglass College
The Haddon Fortnightly - EMD Logo
1938 – LaSalle/Superior Ambulance
Mrs Eleanor Roosevelt
The Haddon Fortnightly Mortgage Burning
The Haddon Fortnightly Tea Room
The Haddon Fortnightly National Register of Historic Places Plaque
The Haddon Fortnightly meeting room
General Federation of Women's Club Logo
The Haddon Fortnightly Scholarships.jpg
images (1)_edited.png

​​​

​

On September 21, 1894, a group of twelve women met at the home of Miss Margaret Bancroft in Haddonfield to establish a center for “the promotion of the educational, literary and social interests of women”. They named this group “The Haddon Fortnightly”.

​​

​

The Haddon Fortnightly - Through the Years

 

1894–2024

​

 

1894 – The women met twice a month—thus the name “Fortnightly.” Each member would bring her own cup, saucer, plate, and spoon.

 

1904 – A lease was signed, granting The Haddon Fortnightly use of the second floor of “The Old Tavern House” (The Indian King) for a yearly rental fee of $120.00.

 

​

1918 – The only Women’s College in the United States to be opened by Clubwomen, The New Jersey College for Women, now Douglass Residential College, was established.

​

​

1936 – The Evening Membership Department of The Haddon Fortnightly was organized.

It was federated in 1938.

​

​

1940s – During the war efforts, Juniors purchased an ambulance for the town and hosted the Red Cross.

​

​

1947 – Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt was a guest speaker at The Haddon Fortnightly.

​

​

1956 – We celebrated the last payment on a mortgage with a Burning of the Mortgage Ceremony.

​

 

​1970 – In memory of an outgoing president, friends purchased a set of Spode China that  we still enjoy today.

​

1974 – Our beautiful clubhouse was placed on both the NJ and National Registers of Historic Places.

​

 

1981 – The Evening Membership Department gifted a dozen brass chandeliers for our Club Room.

​

 

2008 – Members attended the General Federation of Women’s Clubs International Convention in Philadelphia and learned etiquette from Emily Post’s Great-Granddaughter.

​

 

2014 – The Haddon Fortnightly awards 6 scholarships to graduating seniors at Haddonfield Memorial High School, including an Art Scholarship.

​

 

2024 – We were both humbled and honored to celebrate our 130 th Anniversary​

​

​

2025 - We are proud to be a service organization. Our service is… to our club, its home, to the community and to our fellow men and women.

 

​

 

Today, we celebrate the women who came before us and upon whose shoulders we stand as we continue to fulfill our legacy of service for many more years!

The History of our Clubhouse:

The First Methodist Church of Haddonfield
Artisans Order of Mutual Protection - The Artisans Hall
The Haddon Fortnightly
The Haddon Fortnightly - Front of Building I
Plaque National Register of Historic Places

The First Methodist Church of Haddonfield completed the construction of its second church and opened its doors in 1857. It served its parishioners and community faithfully for over fifty years.  

 With the completion of the new Methodist church in 1912 the building was sold and then rented to the Artisans Order of Mutual Protection a Social and Fraternal Order.

In 1922 , The Haddonfield Civic Association together with women of The Haddon Fortnightly, purchased the building as a town meeting place.

In 1931, The Haddonfield Civic Association sold their share of the building to The Haddon Fortnightly, which is still owned and used as their clubhouse till the present day.  

In 1973, The Haddon Fortnightly was placed on both the New Jersey and National Register of Historic Places.

Make a donation

Please join us in our mission to renovate and preserve The Haddon Fortnightly, ensuring that its rich endures for future generations. Your support is vital in maintaining this institution and its contributions to our community. Together, we create a lasting impact and honor the history that defines us. Thank you for being a part of this important journey.

$1,685 raised

Fundraising goal: $10,000,000

15 donations

1%

Frequency

One time

Monthly

Yearly

Amount

$20

$50

$100

$200

Other

0/100

Comment (optional)

bottom of page